Qurultay of the Crimean Tatar People was appointed by the Crimean Tatars in 1991. It is a convention of 250 delegates who are elected locally to serve 5-year terms. Qurultay, along Mejlis (and the regional structures) make up the national government. The 33 members of Mejlis are chosen from the members of the Qurultay which is “the highest plenipotentiary body representing the Crimean Tatar people”. Mejlis is “the only-representative body of the Crimean Tatars in period between sessions of the Qurultay”.