pl   |   en

The so-called Federation of Northern Syria

The so-called Federation of Northern Syria was proclaimed by the regional parliament on March 16th, 2016. Prior to that it was mostly called Rojava (which means west in Kurdish). The new name is a reference to the fact that the Kurdish population was separated between four countries: Turkey, Iran, Iraq and Syria. The regions the Kurds inhabit are respectively called: Bakur, Rojhalat, Bashur and Rojava.
The change was dictated by the territorial expansion of the Syrian Democratic Forces which is the name of the Kurdish and Arab militias supported by the United States. The conquered territories are ethnically diverse. Due to that fact, a new, more universal name was chosen for the area that used to be called Rojava.

17 April 2018
I had to leave my home once again
Rodi was running away from war to Afrin four years ago.
10 January 2018
Is there a chance for peace in Syria? Talks in Sochi will bring more questions than answers
The aim of the Syrian National Dialogue Congress (an official name for the planned meeting in Russian Sochi) is to…
5 December 2017
The Kurds build a federation
The local elections took place on December 1st, 2017 in northern Syria, where the Kurds constitute the majority. The Damascus-based…

Join over 40 thousands subscribers and every Friday at 8 AM you will receive the newest issue of our magazine.

By clicking „Sign up", I give permission to receive newsletter Brief sent by Outriders Sp. not-for-profit Sp. z o.o. and accept rules.

Previous issues

pl   |   en